Promote your event / Contact MCB

email us anytime



Slight Return may be Detroit's biggest musical secret at the moment. They may not be trying to get on the Blowout schedule or looking to flash their mugs in front of cameras at the Detroit music awards, but they do embody what the Detroit music scene should be about- love for the music and the city of Detroit. On their new album entitled "Welcome To The D" they show both right off the bat with the title track. "Welcome To The D" can easily be the city's new rock anthem.  

The album has a very impressive all star guest lineup that includes George Clinton (of Parliament and Funkadelic fame) on vocals, Tony “T Money” Green (The Dramatics, Snoop Dogg, Dr. Dre, Tupac) on bass,  Pat Lewis (Isaac Hayes, Aretha Franklin, George Clinton) on backing vocals, Billy Cox (of Jimi Hendrix’s Band Of Gypsy's) on bass guitar and vocals, Davey Pattison (Robin Trower) on vocals, and Dennis Coffey (The Funk Brothers, Rodriguez) on guitar.

The bands also has a lot of heavy hitters on the production side. Those involved with the album include Jim Diamond (White Stripes, The Dirtbombs), Jack Endino and Chris Hanzsek (Nirvana, Soundgarden), Alan Sanderson (Elton John, The Rolling Stones, Michael Jackson) and “Cornbread” (Marvin Gaye, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Miles Davis).

Guitar and Vocalist Mark Kassa is a big Jimi Hendrix fan and his music often represents the band’s musical direction. You can hear the influence of Tom Morello and Zack de la Rocha of Rage Against The Machine on several tracks as well. And let's not forget about the funk. Several tracks have the booty shakin' recipe with a nice mix of The Red Hot Chili Peppers early material and P-Funk.

The current lineup for the band includes Mark Kassa on guitar and vocals, Ronnie Karmo on drums, Tony Mitchell on percussion and occasional vocals, and  Mike Schneider on bass. The whole band is made up of  seasoned musicians and have opened up for national acts such as Grand Funk Railroad, Rare Earth, and Robin Trower. They don't over saturate the scene with live shows so be sure to catch them when you do have a chance.

 "Welcome To The D" tracklist:
 1.  Welcome To The D
 2.  Shake Your Detroit Right (with George Clinton, Pat Lewis, and Tony "T Money" Green)
 3.  Hail The Heroes
 4.  Stone Free/Third Stone From The Sun (with Billy Cox)
 5.  Horse Left The Stable (with Davy Pattison)
 6.  Funky People (with George Clinton)
 7.  Tale Of Two Bands (with Dennis Coffey)
 8.  Move ’em On Out
 9.  Resistance
10.  Big K
11.  Ignorance
12.  Subscribe Now

You can purchase it via download at iTunes

Or visit their sites at: