Promote your event / Contact MCB

email us anytime


Show Review: Tom Keifer @ The Magic Bag Sunday 02/24/2013

Photo Credit: Thomas Petillo

Tom Keifer, best known as the singer/songwriter/guitarist of the Philadelphia-based blues-rock band CINDERELLA, made a stop at The Magic Bag in Ferndale on his first-ever solo tour on Sunday Feb 24, 2013. In between tour dates with CINDERELLA, Keifer is making a series of smaller, intimate club stops, behind his newly released and highly anticipated solo album, “The Way Life Goes”.  The new album is being touted as Country/Bluesy and the first single “The Flower Song” is an intimate Blues kicker that could likely be heard on Country Radio or on Rock Radio Stations. Keifer and his band played tunes from a collection of his 14 new songs on the Solo Album, as well as driving hard rock favorites from Cinderella’s Long Cold Winter Album, and even included an intimate, stripped-down, cover of the Beatles “Get By With A Little Help From My Friends”.

His tour stop at The Magic Bag was reminiscent of the MTV Storytellers series, as Tom and the band pulled barstools on-stage and told tales of life on the road and also, included his lovely wife Savannah Snow and (Co-writer of most of the Solo Album), sitting in with the band on half the set. This tour embraces the blues, rock and country roots that have always been present in his unique and distinctive sound that has generated the sale of over 15 million records worldwide for CINDERELLA. Tom Keifer is just the gritty, bluesy (rocker) with enough genuine Country-Rock roots to pull of a series of intimate club concerts of this caliber. Tom and his band definitely didn’t disappoint the dedicated fans at The Magic Bag. ~KK

Special thanks to guest reviewer Karla Kay Harris for contributing this review.

Photo Credits: Michael "Mick" McDonald

“The Way Life Goes” track listing:

01. Solid Ground
02. A Different Light
03. It’s Not Enough
04. Cold Day In Hell
05. Thick And Thin
06. Ask Me Yesterday
07. Fools Paradise
08. The Flower Song
09. Mood Elevator
10. Welcome To My Mind
11. You Showed Me
12. Ain’t That A Bitch
13. The Way Life Goes
14. Babylon